Help for art and design students from Ukraine

Art and design students from Ukraine are welcome at Muthesius University of Fine Arts and Design. In order to build a creative bridge, we have enabled a fluent transition for refugee students. We are open to working out individual solutions together which are adapted to the respective situation of Ukrainian students and which allow them to continue their artistic and design work as quickly as possible. This is carried out in direct consultation with the responsible professors. The Muthesius University of Fine Arts and Design welcomes the helpfulness, solidarity and participation of its students, teachers and staff.

Shortly after the start of the war in Ukraine, the Presidential Board decided to admit students from Ukraine to the Muthesius University of Fine Arts and Design in an unbureaucratic and simplified manner. (...)

New Students Application Procedure May 2022

Dear international applicants please note:

All international applicants have to register at Uniassist first to have their documents, diplomas and certificates checked before handing in their application documents to Muthesius directly.

The Uniassist platform is open from 25th February 2021 to 25th of April 2022 for the start of study in October 2022.

Further information on the next steps for your application at Muthesius Kunsthochschule are available on the website.

If you have any questions please use the listed contacts.


Weitere Meldungen

New release: Ephemer.

  With contributions from: Barry Bermange, Gabriele Brandstetter, Danica Darkic, Martina Dobbe, Martin Dornberg, Hinderk M. Emmrich, Daniel Fetzner, Yael Kaduri, Annette Le Fort, Angela (...)

Aktuelle Arbeiten

Presidium, Senate and Advisory Board

The Presidium, Senate and Academy Board are the central organs of the university according to HSG S-H (Higher Education Act of Schleswig-Holstein) of 30.03.2007.

The Presidium

The Presidium runs the institute in the sense of jurisdiction. It is responsible among other things for development planning, the study programmes, target agreements, quality assurance, the examination regulations, the budget and the number of student enrolments. It does this via the administration of the Muthesius University. All committees, institute and bodies of the university must provide information to the Presidium and invite members to their meetings. The members of the Presidium are elected by the senate.

The members of the Presidium of the Muthesius University are:

President Dr. Arne Zerbst

Vice-president  Prof. Dipl. Ing. Michael Breda

Vice-president Dr. Almut Linde

Chancellor N.N.

The full-time president of the university represents the institution and is responsible for all operations and business. Vice-president Prof. Michael Breda is responsible for studies and teaching as well as international issues. Vice-president Dr. Almut Linde is responsible for all artistic and technical workshops, international issues and post-graduate studies and projects. Chancellor N.N. is head of the administration of the university. He is responsible for the budget.

The Senate

The senate advises in issues of research, teaching and studies which are of central importance and which concern the whole university. It oversees the administration of the Presidium, takes decisions regarding the constitution, the regulations, it elects the Presidium, decides on e.g. research focus, produces statements on the budget and structural development plans. All information for these purposes are given to the Senate by the Presidium and other bodies. The Senate of the University consists of: 13 representatives from the professorial/teaching staff (7), artistic staff (2), students (2) and non-academic staff (2). The Presidium and the equality officer are also members of the senate with the right to submit resolutions, and as advisors.

Chairperson: Maike Schulken

Vice Chairperson: Prof. Arnold Dreyblatt

Minutes Secretary: Gisela Rosenthal


Wahlgruppe 1 Abraham/ Linde
Prof. Dreyblatt/ N.N. Le Fort/ Juchter Meyer/ Kruse
Prof. Rhein/ Prof. Postler
Prof. Schulz/ Prof. Teckert Wagner/ Prof. Gutmann

Wahlgruppe 2
Engler (Ewald)

Wahlgruppe 3
Ozan Türkyilmaz
Theo Thoumine

Wahlgruppe 4


The University is autonomous in its self-adminsitration via committees and boards. The boards are formed by the Senate and according to the Higher Education Act of Schleswig-Holstein comprise the central study committee (Chariperson: Prof. Dipl.- Ing. Michael Breda), the central boards for research and knowledge transfer, and the central budget and planning committee (Chair: N.N.). An overview of all committees and boards is given in a PDF (status: October 2014).

The Advisory Board

Five external part-time/honourary persons. In conjunction with the Senate and the Presidium it is one of the central bodies of the University. It accompanies university development, gives recommendations and prepares resolutions and statements on e.g. budget plans, development planning and quality assurance. The President is a member in an advisory capacity and has the right to submit resolutions. The Equality Officer and a representative of the Student Council can also take part in the meetings in an advisory capacity and have the right to submit resolutions.

Minutes Secretary: Gisela Rosenthal

The members of the Advisory Board are: Prof. Dr. Hannes Böhringer, designated chairperson. Claudia Fischer-Appelt, designer, creative head of FischerAppelt-Gruppe, founder of mamamoto and the design agency Karl Anders. Dr. Dirk Luckow, director DEICHTORHALLEN HAMBURG GMBH. Dr. Luise Wagner, author, director and producer. N.N.


Dr. Luise Wagner, Dr. Dirk Luckow , Claudia Fischer-Appelt, Prof. Dr. Hannes Böhringer



Gisela Rosenthal
T 0431 / 5198 – 411, E

Senate Dates Summer Semester 2020

Weekday: Wednesday
Begin: 15.00 hrs
Location: Exhibition Room of the Muthesius Kunsthochschule